Topic: memory train tutorial question

Hello everyone,
I hope that someone here will be able to assist me.
I am new to the bgtk and fairly new to programming as well. I have dabbled with the scripting language in vipMud however this is my first time jumping into a more versatile scripting language.
I have been reading the manual and the language tutorial. I went to work on the first program, which is a game called memory train.
I first wrote out all the code so that I could better assimilate the information. when I tried running it however, I was having a problem. I then decided to try pasting all he snippets from the tutorial. I did this and the game starts however I have one serious problem. Pressing the arrow keys doesn't do anything in the dynamic menu. I pasted it exactly as the manual had it but it won't let me arrow through the menu to choose either to start a game or practice mode etc.
sapi says, the welcome message and tells me I can use my arrow keys to look at the options but nothing works. I tried pressing escape also and it won't exit the program either. The only way I am able to exit the game is through the windows task manager. Once I do this, the bg toolkit throws an error because I had to end an unresponsive program.
at first, I thought the problem may be because I am running windows in a virtual machine on my MacBook pro. I sent it to my husband though, who is using a windows desktop and he had the same difficulty.
we are both running a 64 bit version of Windows 7. does anyone have any ideas as to what is going on? and why the code that is pasted exactly from the documentation isn't working?
Any assistance would be appreciated. I am brand new at this but would love to learn.
take care,

Re: memory train tutorial question

Hi,